Skip to main content

Transparency International's Annual Membership Meeting elected new Chair and Vice-Chair and adopted resolution on integrity in politics

Three new board members were elected at the Annual Membership Meeting held virtually on 10-12 November

Transparency International’s 2023 Annual Membership Meeting elected François Valérian as the new Chair and Ketakandriana Rafitoson as the new Vice-Chair for three-year terms.

In the lead-up to this year's Conference of the States Parties (CoSP) of the UN Convention against Corruption (UNCAC), the Membership adopted a resolution on enhancing transparency in the financing of political parties and election campaigns as a way to advance integrity of politics, one of Transparency International’s strategic goals for 2030. The resolution is part of Transparency International’s efforts to advance discussions on transparency during the next UNCAC CoSP.

The Membership also confirmed the appointment of three new board members. Silvina Bacigalupo and Bruno Brandão will assume a three-year term and Peter van Veen a two-year term. Executive Director of Transparency International Portugal Karina Carvalho was re-elected as a member of the Membership Accreditation Committee.

Newly elected Chair of Transparency International:

  • François Valérian has been working with Transparency International for the past 15 years. Since 2013, he has been a board member of Transparency International France where he focused on advocacy and strategic litigation. In 2019, he was elected as a member of the international board and has served on membership accreditation, ethics, finance and appointment committees.

Newly elected Vice-Chair of Transparency International:

  • Ketakandriana Rafitoson joined Transparency International Madagascar in 2018 as Executive Director. She holds PhDs in Political Science and Sociology. Passionate about social justice and democracy, she has founded several social movements in Madagascar. In 2023, Rafitoson was appointed as a member of the International Board of the Fisheries Transparency Initiative.

Newly elected members of Transparency International's Board of Directors:

  • Silvina Bacigalupo joined Transparency International in 2011. Since 2019 she has been president of Transparency International Spain. Silvina holds a Ph.D. in criminal law and has numerous years of experience in advising businesses on anti-corruption.
  • Bruno Brandão has worked at Transparency International since 2010 and since 2016 has been Executive Director of Transparency International Brazil. Brandão is an economist by training and holds master's degrees in public management and international relations.
  • Peter van Veen is a member of the board of Transparency International Netherlands, where he set up the business integrity committee and currently chairs the illicit finance committee. He spent over six years at Transparency International UK where he set up the business integrity programme and was a member of the management team.

Many Transparency International chapters are threatened and harassed. But despite all these challenges, there are strong signs of hope. In many countries, we obtain laws and judgements against corruption. And the more the corrupt leaders fight against us, the more they show their weakness.
François Valérian, Chair of Transparency International