Skip to main content

Annual Membership Meeting endorses new strategic framework, elects new Board members

Transparency International’s Annual Membership Meeting 2020, held virtually for the first time due to the COVID-19 pandemic, has endorsed the organisation’s new Strategy 2030 - Holding Power to Account.

The Annual Membership Meeting voted to adopt two resolutions related to the new strategy: a Youth Integrity Initiative and the coordination of joint initiatives to guarantee that the development, purchase and distribution of treatments and vaccines respect the principles of transparency, accountability, and protection of human rights.

The Annual Membership Meeting voted to adapt its governance structure to ensure a clearer separation of the executive roles and a new staggering system for its Board elections.

Delia Ferreira Rubio and Rueben Lifuka were re-elected as Chair and Vice-Chair (respectively) of the Board of Directors of Transparency International. AJ Brown, Oya Özarslan and David Ondráčka were re-elected as Members of the Board of Directors.  Two members of the Transparency International movement were elected as new Members of the Board of Directors:

Susan Côté-Freeman. Susan Côté-Freeman is currently Chair and President of Transparency International Canada. She worked for Transparency International in London, Washington D.C. and Berlin where she was Head of the Business Integrity Programme. In 2016, following a 20-year career at TI, Susan joined the Conference Board of Canada, a prominent research organization, where she led an executive network of risk executives and carried out research in the governance, compliance, and risk areas. Susan also served for five years as President of the Board of IMPACT, a Canadian international non-profit organization that investigates and develops approaches for natural resources to improve security, development, and equality.

Sawsan Gharaibeh. Sawsan Gharaibeh has worked for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), where she supported Jordan’s newly established Anti-Corruption Commission and advocated for stronger collaboration with civil society. In 2012, she left UNDP to co-found “Rasheed” (now Transparency International Jordan). In 2018, she became the chair of TI Jordan. Sawsan Gharaibeh is currently the Chief Operating Officer for a local organization called Partners for Good that focuses the nexus between the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) on poverty alleviation, health, youth, and gender equality. 

Ernie Ko and Anton Pominov were re-elected as Members of the Membership Accreditation Committee of the Board of Directors. One member of the Transparency International Movement was elected to the Committee as a new Member:

Karina Carvalho. Karina Carvalho is the Executive Director of Transparência e Integridade, Associação Cívica (TI Portugal). She has worked as Human Resources director, consultant and project manager in fields ranging from education to gender mainstreaming, social responsibility, and corporate governance.

For any press enquiries, please contact:

Transparency International press office
T: +49 30 34 38 20 666
E: [email protected]