Skip to main content

Transparency International announces short-listed candidates for Anti-Corruption Award

Transparency International today announced the candidates short-listed for the Anti-Corruption Award (in alphabetical order):

  • The Carwash Operation (Lava Jato), led by the Carwash Task Force, began as a local money-laundering investigation and has grown into what is believed to be the largest investigation of money laundering and corruption in Brazil’s history;
  • Can Dündar, ex-Editor-in-Chief and Erdem Gül, Bureau Chief of the Ankara bureau of the Cumhuriyet Daily Newspaper, Turkey, have investigated and published stories about the Turkish Government's conspiracy to allegedly supply arms and ammunition to jihadist forces in Syria under the cover of medical supplies;
  • The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists is a global network of 185 reporters in more than 65 countries. Their reporters investigated the Panama-based Law Firm Mossack Fonseca and the many leaked financial and legal records that exposed a system that enables crime, corruption and wrongdoing using secretive offshore companies; and
  • Gasim Abdul Kareem, manager at the Bank of Maldives’ Nilandhoo branch and whistleblower, was arrested on 18 February 2016 on charges of unlawful acquisition and disclosure of information that related to the sale of islands. His disclosure showed that money that should have gone to the public purse allegedly ended up in private bank accounts. He faces sentencing on 15 November.

Launched in 2000 as the Transparency International Integrity Award and renamed this year, the Anti-Corruption Award honours remarkable individuals and organisations worldwide, including journalists, public prosecutors, government officials, and civil society leaders who expose and fight corruption.

Transparency International asked the public to nominate their anti-corruption heroes and received 580 nominations for 136 individuals. All nominations were carefully analysed and discussed by the Anti-Corruption Award committee. All short-listed candidates are a source of inspiration to the anti-corruption movement because their actions echo a common message that corruption can be challenged.

The winner will be announced on 3 December at the Anti-Corruption Award ceremony during the International Anti-Corruption Conference, Panama City.

To read more about the Anti-Corruption Award Committee and previous Integrity Award winners click here.

For any press enquiries please contact

Media contacts
Natalie Baharav
E: [email protected]
T: +49 30 3438 20 666