Skip to main content

Call for Entries: Middle East & North Africa Investigative Journalism Prize

Transparency International announced today its first Middle East & North Africa Investigative Journalism Prize to highlight and encourage in-depth investigative reports of corruption in the region. Transparency International is now accepting entries until 29 October 2014.

Reporting about the abuse of entrusted power takes courage and determination for the media in one of the deadliest regions in the world for journalists to work in. With that in mind Transparency International seeks to recognize investigative journalists for their efforts to shed light on the abuse of power, secret dealings and bribery.

Against an increasing tide of restrictions and censorship of the media, this award seeks to honour those who further the debate on corruption in the public interest and who can shine a light on those who are affected by it. The award covers print, radio, television and online reports accessible in Arabic about corruption in the Middle East & North Africa. First place will be awarded 3000 Euros, 2000 Euros for second place and 1000 Euros for third place. All winning entries will be published on the website

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants must be both a national of the MENA region and based in one of the following countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, the UAE and Yemen.
  • The published report must cover the period from 28 September 2013 – 28 September 2014
  • The report must be submitted and published in a newspaper, radio, television or online outlet in Arabic.

All applications must be submitted with an up to date CV and a cover page outlining your report’s link to corruption on [email protected]

Deadline for submission is 29 October 2014.

For any press enquiries please contact

Farid Farid
MENA Media Coordinator
[email protected]
+49 30 3438 20 666