International NGOs call for end to Russian crack-down on civil society

Logos of NGOs signing joint statement

On the eve of the European Union-Russia summit this week, eight international organisations representing a cross-section of global civil society call on European Union leaders to urge Russian President Vladimir Putin to end the crackdown on Russian civil society.

Russia has passed a series of laws that restrict the rights to freedom of expression, association, and assembly significantly hindering the operation of national non-governmental organisations (NGOs) as well as international NGOs supporting them. The laws have created a difficult environment for civil society in Russia where activists now face significant risks in carrying out their work.

Amnesty International, CIVICUS: World Alliance for Citizen Participation, Freedom House, Front Line Defenders, Greenpeace, Human Rights Watch, the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders (a joint programme of the World Organisation Against Torture [OMCT] and the International Federation for Human Rights [FIDH]) and Transparency International urge the summit participants to seek a commitment from the Russian government to ensure the involvement of civil society in public policy debates, stop harassment of human rights organisations, and increase protection for civil society activists and journalists.

We call for the repeal of recently adopted laws that contain provisions inconsistent with Russia’s international and constitutional commitments on human rights and good governance. These include:

We believe the new restrictive laws, particularly the definition of treason, could threaten Russia’s membership in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), its accession to the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials and its relationship with the European Court of Human Rights.

We call on the European Union to join us in urging the Russian government to bring its laws into line with Russia’s international obligations and rights guaranteed under the Russian Constitution, repeal restrictive new laws and guarantee a safe environment for civil society.

Contacts

Amnesty International
Lydia Aroyo, Press Officer
Email: laroyo@amnesty.org
Phone: +44 (0) 20 7413 5599; +44 (0) 7771 796 350

CIVICUS
Mandeep Tiwana, Policy and Advocacy Manager
Email: Mandeep.tiwana@civicus.org
Phone: +27 11 833 5959 ext. 110

Freedom House
Susan Corke, Director for Eurasia programs
Email: Corke@freedomhouse.org
Phone: +1 202 296 5101

Front Line Defenders
Jim Loughran, Head of Communications
Email: jim@frontlinedefenders.org
Phone: +353 1 212 3750

Greenpeace
Ivan Blokov, Campaign Director, Greenpeace Russia
Email: ivan.blokov@greenpeace.org
Phone: +7 495 9887460 ext. 332
Daniel Mittler, Political Director, Greenpeace International
Email: daniel.mittler@greenpeace.org
Phone: +49 160 94676589

Human Rights Watch
Rachel Denberr, Deputy Europe and Central Asia director
Email: denberr@hrw.org
Phone: +1 917 916 1266

International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)
Arthur Manet / Audrey Couprie, Press Officers
Emails: amanet@fidh.org / acouprie@fidh.org
Phone: + 33 1 43 55 25 18

Transparency International
Chris Sanders, Manager, Media and Public Relations
Email: press@transparency.org
Phone: +49 30 3438 20 666

World Organisation Against Torture (OMCT)
Delphine Reculeau, Coordinator
Email: dr@omct.org
Phone: + 41 22 809 49 39

Press contact(s):

Chris Sanders
Manager, Media and Public Relations
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
+49 30 3438 20 666

CivilSocietyStatement_Russia_19Dec2012

Follow us on Social Media

Subscribe to our newsletters